icon A Fenix example game first ported in 2004, now reconfigured and re-adapted to be fully functional on Dreamcast.


The objective of the game is to avoid all the falling rocks that appear randomly from the top of the screen, there are nine levels and you have three lives, the rocks begin to drop faster as you progress through each level, and points are given for every rock that falls. Guide your character between the rocks and jump to safety when they begin to pile up on the floor, if you hit a rock you'll explode and lose a life.

Rocks was developed in 2000 by José Luis Cebrián as an example game, Rocks was also one of the first Fenix games ported to Dreamcast by Chui in March 2004, the port was PAL only and suffered from a few bugs, that version of the game and the original source has been archived for historical purposes along with all the other first Fenix ports on this page.

Rocks screen 1

This release comprises of the game Rocks along with DCEvolution's version of Chui's Fenix SDL Loader (FSL) from November 2004, edited to exclude the Fenix splash screen and jingle, so the game loads directly.

Rocks has been re-compiled specifically for the Dreamcast, and the text within the game has been translated to English. The controls for the game were originally for keyboard, they have been reconfigured for the Dreamcast controller. The first five levels of the game can be selected directly from the menu screen, an option to play the last level has also been included, the level difficulty title 'Insane' is due to the speed of the falling rocks. All the controls for the game are on the menu screen, alternatively, the controls are listed below for reference.

Rocks screen 2

Controls (Menu)

  • A - Start at Level 1 (Very Easy)
  • B - Start at Level 2 (Easy)
  • X - Start at Level 3 (Normal)
  • Y - Start at Level 4 (Difficult)
  • D-Pad Up - Start at Level 5 (Very Difficult)
  • D-Pad Down - Start at Level 9 (Insane)

Controls (Game)

  • D-Pad L/R - Move
  • A - Jump
  • Start - Return to Menu
Rocks screen 3


  • Rocks: Jose Luis Cebrian
  • Fenix Dreamcast Port and FSL: Chui
  • Rocks adapted for Dreamcast and presented by DCEvolution

Site Links

Rocks Thumbnail 1
CD Image Download (672 KB)
Rocks Thumbnail 2
Download (665 KB) Plainfiles
Rocks Thumbnail 3
Download (14.9 KB) Source