I Have No Mouth And I Must Scream

icon At the end of the cold war, the three superpowers (United States, Russia, and China) each created a supercomputer to regulate the launch of missiles. The three supercomputers, which were networked together via an early form of the internet, combined themselves together to form one large supercomputer network known as AM (I think therefore I AM). AM developed a hatred towards humans after learning about their hate for their own kind through the information from each of the nation's supercomputers. The computer destroyed all of humankind, except for five people it chose to torture for over one hundred years due to flaws in their nature. After 109 years of torture, the computer decided to give the five people a chance to redeem themselves.

This CD Image contains ScummVM version 0.12.0 with the DOS demo of I Have No Mouth And I Must Scream. The game engine plugin used for this release is the 'SAGA' engine, it also supports the game Inherit The Earth: Quest for the Orb.

IHNM Screen 1

The demo contains three sections, the non-interactive section will start when the demo is loaded, press the X button to access the menu for all three sections:

  • Written Instructions
  • Interactive Demo
  • Non-interactive Demo
IHNM Screen 2


Due to the nature of some aspects of the full game, it is rated as adults only, the French and German versions are partly censored, the German version being impossible to solve due to an entire character scenario removed from the game.

ScummVM Menu Controls

  • D-Pad/Analog Stick Up/Down - Browse List
  • A or Start - Select

ScummVM General Controls

  • D-Pad - Slow Cursor
  • Analog Stick - Quick Cursor
  • A - Action (Mouse Left Button)
  • B - Action (Mouse Right Button)
  • Left Trigger - Launch/Hide Virtual Keyboard
  • D-Pad - Highlight Virtual Key
  • A - Virtual Key Select
IHNM Screen 3


The 'I Have No Mouth And I Must Scream' game engine plugin for ScummVM (SAGA engine) has the 'Autosave' function disabled, so you can play the demo and the full game without interruption on the Dreamcast (no beep every five minutes).

IHNM Screen 4

Bonus Content

  • ScummVM 0.12.0 complete Plain Files
  • ScummVM Tools
  • Walkthrough Guide
  • Plus extras


  • Interpreter: ScummVM
  • ScummVM Dreamcast Port: Marcus Comstedt
  • I Have No Mouth And I Must Scream: Harlan Ellison (developed by The Dreamers Guild)
  • CD Image presented by: The DCEvolution Team


Random Links